When you want your recorded time to only reflect the time you have spent riding, turn on the Auto-pause feature.

The reason you would want to turn on Auto-pause is to prevent a “spaghetti blob”. Whenever you stop riding, the app will continue to record track points, but with Auto-pause on, it only records the track points when you are actually in motion, not when you’ve stopped for a cup or coffee or nature break.

Here are two rides to the same location, one with Auto-paused enabled, the other without.

Auto-pause Disabled:
autopause-turned-off
Auto-pause Enabled:
autopause-turned-on

Enabling Auto-pause

Turn on/off the Auto-pause feature in the app settings.

  1. Tap the ( ) icon in the upper left
  2. Go to Settings > Logging
  3. Tap the Auto-pause line to change the toggle on or off.
autopause-iphone-setting
You can toggle the Auto-pause feature (not actually pausing the ride) by:

  1. Tap the menu icon in the upper right corner
  2. Tap the Auto-pause toggle to change it on or off.
autopause-iphone-go-ride
While you are in the ride recording screen, you can see when Auto-pause is enabled by the banner that appears on the map. Once you start moving again, this banner will disappear.
autopause-iphone-banner

Auto-pause reminder notification

When Auto-pause has been activated on a ride and you’ve been sitting in one place for a while, a notification will appear on your lock screen to remind you that you are recording a ride and that Auto-pause is engaged. This will appear again every 30 minutes.

This will help keep you from accidentally recording a ride in one place and killing your battery when accidentally left on too long. Although the ride is paused, the GPS is still active and using power. This is a gentle reminder to either get going again or stop recording and save your ride.

autopause-30-minute-notification-iphone
Facebooktwitterredditpinterestby feather