Riding through a spectacular mountain range? Rolling through picturesque farm roads? Using the Ride With GPS app, you can snap a photo, and it will be geotagged and automatically uploaded to the website along with your ride.

This feature is an excellent way to supplement a story and interact with riders, sharing your amazing scenic ride, bike tour, or a spin to your favorite coffee shop with friends.

Outline:

App Photo Settings

Let’s go through the app settings as they relate to taking photos.

  1. Tap the menu ( ) icon in the upper left corner.
  2. Go to SETTINGS
  3. then LOGGING

Find photos from Rides (iPhone)FIND PHOTOS TAKEN OUTSIDE OF APP (Android), . With this option checked, any photos taken with another app or the device’s camera will be added to the ride. This is useful if you use your camera to take several photos in succession, or take a panorama shot.

UPLOAD PHOTOS OVER WI-FI ONLY. You have the option of uploading photos over wi­fi only. This will help you avoid any data-overage charges from your cellular network.

PHOTO UPLOAD SIZE, Changing this option will determine the photo quality and size of the upload. The app defaults to HIGH which is great for the web, but change this to FULL if you want the full resolution and 100% photo. WARNING: Uploading full-sized photos over will be considerably larger and take up network data usage. You’ll want to use UPLOAD OVER WIFI ONLY with full uploads.

Live Logging Photo Settings:

Premium and Basic subscribers can take advantage of a feature to automatically upload photos while Live Logging.

SYNC PHOTOS WHILE LIVE LOGGING. This will use your cellular network connection to upload each picture as you use Live Logging. Turn this feature off if you do not want to use any network data during your ride.

If you enable this option, this will upload photos while Live Logging even if you have Upload Over Wi­Fi Only enabled.

Taking Photos in the App:

You can take photos while in the Ride with GPS app, but we recommend using your preferred camera app as it will have more options.

A: After you’ve started recording a ride, tap the camera icon in the lower­right corner (if you have landscape mode enabled, the camera icon will be in the lower­left corner).

B: Photos you have taken during the ride can be viewed by tapping the gallery icon in the lower­left corner.

mobile-photos-buttons
After taking a photo, you will be prompted to provide a caption (this is optional). Tap Save to continue using the app.
mobile-photos-annotation

When you are done with your ride, tap the record button and save it. Then, you will be prompted to name your ride (optional), set privacy, select your gear, and preview the photos taken during the ride.

By default, each photo will be selected. If you do not wish a photo to be uploaded, tap the photo to unselect it.

When you are done naming your ride and selecting which photos you want to upload, tap the checkmark in the upper righthand corner to finish the upload process.

Photos that have been automatically uploaded will have a green check mark, while photos that have been uploaded while Live Logging will have a red icon.

mobile-photos-android-updated

Adding Photos to a Ride

    You can always add photos to a ride even after it has been saved and uploaded.

    On iPhone, there are two options; FIND MY RIDE PHOTOS and ADD PHOTOS. Find My Ride Photos will show you all the photos and screenshots you had taken during the ride, while Add Photos will allow you to select any photo in your phone’s photo gallery.

  1. While viewing the ride on the mobile app, tap the menu icon ( ) in the upper right corner.
  2. Scroll down and tap Find My Ride Photos
  3. Tap each photo to make your selection. A checkbox will appear to indicate your selection.
  4. Tap SAVE to start the upload process.
  5. select-photos
Tapping ADD PHOTOS will take you to a screen to show which photos you have selected to upload as well as let you add more.

For each photo you wish to add this way you will need to tap the ADD button.

After you have selected all your ride photos, tap SAVE (iPhone) or DONE (Android).

From the main screen on the app, tap the PHOTOS tab. This will display ALL of your photos and captions saved to your account.

Tap a photo to view it. Swipe right to view the next photo, swipe left to view the previous photo.

If you want to permanently delete a photo, you can do it while viewing the photo. Tap the menu in the upper right corner then select DELETE. This will permanently delete the photo and cannot be undone. This only deletes the photo from your account not the original photo from your phone.

Sharing photos:

When viewing a photo in the app, you can also share it on Facebook and other social networks by tapping the share icon at the top of the screen.

View Photos on the website

After a ride and its photos have been uploaded to the site, you will see a thumbnail in the right side panel when viewing the ride. Clicking on the thumbnail will expand the photo where you can add a caption, rotate, delete, or share the photo. Each photo that has been geotagged will show up as a black dot along the route.

Learn more about adding photos via the website

viewing-photo-on-site
Facebooktwitterredditpinterestby feather