This article assumes you know the difference between a route and a ride. A ride is a recording/activity from a GPS unit or mobile app that contains a path with time information. A route, unlike a ride, does not have any time information associated with it. A route also typically has a cue sheet. You can plan a bike ride using or route planner, which saves the route with a cuesheet. Then, you can ride along the route you created, recording your location, and the resulting upload is known as a ride or trip.

Using our tracing feature you can take one of your rides and use it as a template to generate a route, complete with a cuesheet and copies of the photos you took along the way. Your original ride will remain unchanged, the new route is a copy of the original with the added bonus of turn by turn directions. A great way to share your adventure with a friend who might benefit from some navigational help.

The Prepare for Tracing feature is part of our Premium and Basic subscriptions.
  1. On the ride screen, in the right side panel, scroll down and select COPY TO MY ROUTES.
  2. After clicking copy, you will be given the option to copy the route with our without photos (if the ride has photos associated with it). To keep the photos, make sure to click COPY WITH PHOTOS. This will create a copy of your route that you will be able to edit, while preserving the original ride for your records.
  3. After copying the route with photos, you will see the option to either view or edit your copy. Click the edit link, which should open up a new page.
  4. copy-with-photos
  5. On the edit page, like the route planner, there is a panel to the left and right of the map. On the left side panel, drop down the EDIT option and select PREPARE FOR TRACING. You will then see the red path on the map switch to a gray color. You can now click along the gray route, which provides reference of where to click to map the route. However, feel free to start your new route anywhere along the traceable path. You are not required to begin at the original start location.
  6. prepare-for-tracing
  7. Now the fun part! Trace the route by clicking along the greyed path. Be careful to avoid clicking on the intersections, this can cause oddities on the cuesheet. Instead, just click after any intersection, our routing services are fairly smart and will know where you intend to go.
  8. Make sure to check your cue sheet! For more detailed route planning help read our route planner help article.
  9. show-cue-icons
  10. After you’ve traced the entire route. Click Save on the left side panel.
  11. A pop-up will prompt you to update the name, description, and other details about the route andĀ click SaveĀ to preserve the photos and original route.
  12. After it has been saved, a pop-up will appear alerting you your route has been saved. Click VIEW YOUR ROUTE.
  13. save-box-screenshot

Congrats, you now have a helpful, shareable route complete with a cue sheet and copies of all the photos from your original ride. Remember, your ride was not changed during this process, so everything remains attached to your profile and part of your profile mileage totals.

Screenshot 2014-11-17 15.11.43
Facebooktwitterredditpinterestby feather